Book Reviews

The 100, The 100: Day 21 and The 100: Homecoming by Kass Morgan book reviews

19161855 20454076 23264825

The 100

Blurb:

In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth’s toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland… before it’s too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they’ve only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they’re haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust – and even love – again

The 100: Day 21

Blurb:

No one has set foot on Earth in centuries — until now.
It’s been 21 days since the hundred landed on Earth. They’re the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries…or so they thought. Facing an unknown enemy, Wells attempts to keep the group together. Clarke strikes out for Mount Weather, in search of other Colonists, while Bellamy is determined to rescue his sister, no matter the cost. And back on the ship, Glass faces an unthinkable choice between the love of her life and life itself.
In this pulse-pounding sequel to Kass Morgan’s The 100, secrets are revealed, beliefs are challenged, and relationships are tested. And the hundred will struggle to survive the only way they can — together.

The 100: Homecoming

Blurb:

Weeks after landing on Earth, the Hundred have managed to create a sense of order amidst their wild, chaotic surroundings. But their delicate balance comes crashing down with the arrival of new dropships from space.

These new arrivals are the lucky ones – back on the Colony, the oxygen is almost gone – but after making it safely to Earth, GLASS’s luck seems to be running out. CLARKE leads a rescue party to the crash site, ready to treat the wounded, but she can’t stop thinking about her parents who may still be alive. Meanwhile, WELLS struggles to maintain his authority despite the presence of the Vice Chancellor and his armed guards, and BELLAMY must decide whether to face or flee the crimes he thought he’d left behind.

It’s time for the Hundred to come together and fight for the freedom they’ve found on Earth, or risk losing everything – and everyone – they love.

Okay so I can see why someone decided to make these into a TV show. I premise of the plot is good.

I liked the whole “No one can live on Earth but they are going to send down 100 people from space to test to see if it is no liveable.” Its a good plot to a Dystopian novel.

But…

The show and the books are COMPLETELY DIFFERENT.

The only characters to make it into the actual show are Octavia, Bellamy, Clarke and Wells. And Wells died in the first season.

There is no Finn, No Raven, No Reapers, No Grounders (Well there is but the go under a different name), No Murphy, No Jasper, No Monty… Basically a lot of the characters in the show are not in the books.

But I’m not judging the show (Which I LOVE by the way… Bellamy <3) I’m here to review the books.

The books…

The first book held the whole Earth is inhabitable and no one can live there so we’re going to send a 100 convicts down to see if we can live there again. So they do.

Clarke is among them and so is Wells and Octavia. Bellamy does the whole “shoot the chancellor” thing like he does in the TV show and he’s going down to Earth with them to protect his sister.

And… That’s the only in the show that’s in the book.

There are a lot of POV’s in the book. We get Clarke, Bellamy, Wells and a character called Glass. To be honest I don’t think the book needed Glass. I didn’t think she was quite relevant to the book but then again I did like reading about what was happening to the others up on the Ark. She didn’t seem a strong character to read about so I lost interest in her slightly.

Wells POV. Okay so the only reason he got sent down to earth is because he wanted to go down and protect the girl he loves; Clarke. Yep the pair were in a relationship. But Wells betrayed her trust which ended up getting her parents floated (Like in the show)

Then there’s Bellamy… I love him in the show so I loved him in the book haha. He’s cocky and arrogant but underneath all the bravado there’s a person who wants to be loved and who wants to love. People leave him, we learn about his background through a some flashbacks, and all he has left is Octavia. Then he meets Clarke and his life changes, but there’s something surrounding her that he just can’t quite trust.

Clarke…She’s a little less feisty in the book. She gives the whole badass thing a good go but I like her better in the show. She’s a good character but I felt like she changed her mind a lot. One minute she was in love with wells, then she hated him, then she had mixed feelings about him, she kisses him as she forgives him for what he did and then suddenly she hates him again. I mean COME ON make up your mind woman! You have Bellamy! You don’t need Wells.

I can kinda see why they killed him off in the show. There wasn’t really much about him to sustain him throughout the whole show and I felt like that in the books too. He was an okay character but there was a lot of other characters that maybe could have had the limelight.

I can see though where the show got the premise for some of the other characters. Glass and Luke have a Raven and Finn quality about them and Wells falls for Sasha (A girl in book three) who ahs the premise of Jasper and Maya.

For a Dystopian series there wasn’t much action. It centred around the love triangle a lot and when there was action it was usually at the end and was over just as quickly as it started. Sometimes I couldn’t grasp where I was and the POV’s changed too quickly. Just when you were getting into the mind-set of one character it flipped and we had someone else’s to deal with. I think the duel POV’s didn’t quite work at times.

The plot of the book was a good one but I think it could have been executed a bit better. Been planned a bit more, made a bit more action.

It was a good trilogy but I wouldn’t quite put it in the 5 star category. Its more like one of those stories that you liked but it didn’t stick with you as much as The Hunger games or Divergent or Legend or The Grisha Trilogy or Throne of Glass series does.  This is one of those times where I like the Show more than I do the books.

And BELLARKE! Okay so they happen in the books… They have to happen in the show soon!!

2 thoughts on “The 100, The 100: Day 21 and The 100: Homecoming by Kass Morgan book reviews”

  1. I love the show, it was one of my favourites this year, so I was wondering if I should actually read the books. After reading your review, I think I’ll give them a miss. I love the action in the show, and I love the way that any romantic arcs are secondary to the main plot and premise. I don’t think I could handle reading a trilogy of Clarke love triangles. 😀 As such, thanks for the review!

    1. Yeah the TV show is 100% better than the books. I have a good reason as to why they deviated from the books so much. There wasn’t a lot of action in them at all. They were pretty boring. I just loved the Bellamy and Clarke scenes because I ship Bellarke with a passion haha

Leave a comment