The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead book review

Standard

The thing is… I actually thought I had reviewed this book but looking back I clearly hadn’t and I am so annoyed that I haven’t!

8709528

Blurb:

The epic conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series is finally here…

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

After their secret romance is exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series. When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world.

The Ruby Circle was an amazing conclusion to a series that has meant a lot to me. For the last four years I was lucky enough to read books in this world and now that it has all ended I feel both glad and sad to have been on this journey. I’ll miss these characters a lot – especially Adrian – but the ending couldn’t have been more perfect. As always I enjoyed reading about both Sydney and Adrian a lot. I am massively in love with Adrian (I think my love for him surpasses that of Dimitri from Vampire Academy! :O *SHOCK*)

These past years he’s been my favourite character and I am so so so happy that Richelle Mead decided to write all about him. We saw him in VA as a chancer, someone who took what he wanted and someone who was always the life and soul of the party. Even though people never really took him seriously he had brilliant ideas and schemes. He loved with all his heart. In Bloodlines we have been able to see him grow and change (for the better) as a character. He’s more mature, he grew up a lot and we saw him find that one true love that we are all after.

On to The Ruby Circle. I obviously loved it. I haven’t not liked any of books from this series. Quite a few things got resolved that was left over from the previous book and, as always, there are some unexpected twists along the way (Seriously read the series)

From the start of Bloodlines, I have loved Sydney and Adrian’s relationship and I am so glad we got to see them grow as a couple but it’s quite clear in this book they have some issues that are unresolved.

They both have flaws, it’s a common thing for everyone, but they trust each other completely and they’re both equally fierce in wanting to protect one another. I love them. As it was the last Bloodlines book a lot familiar characters made an appearance. Rose and Dimitri (AAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!) were a pretty big part of the book. And OMG THE REVELATION ABOUT DIMITRI’S DAD AND WHO HE IS…. OMG! (Read the VA and Bloodlines books if you want the same reaction to me ha-ha). I’m quite glad at what was revealed and what that means for them. And the ending for them two was just…. Perfect!

Of course you can’t have a vampire book without plenty of action and I loved it all in this one. This series was more about the magic side, whereas VA was more about the killing and the protection side of the vampire world. Both Sydney and Adrian are pretty badass in their own way. Sydney has her human magic and Adrian with his spirit magic (although seeing what it did to his sanity was HARD!). They might’ve not have a lot of time for romance in this book (Unlike in the Fiery Heart *nudge nudge wink wink* ha-ha) but the moments they could steal together were intense, sweet and just absolute. The Center Will Hold!

There was also scenes of sadness and I’m not going to spoil anything but if you didn’t at least get a bit teary on one certain scene then… Plus the revelations that were revealed… OMGEEEEEE!!!

I’m sad that the series is over but I have had an incredible journey with both the VA characters and the Bloodlines characters. It’s like saying goodbye to dear friends because they’ve been with me for a long time.

A perfect ending to another perfect series by Richelle Mead.

Thank you for writing these books!

Leave a Reply

