Lying Out Loud by Kody Keplinger book review 

Standard

Its been a busy few weeks for me! Firs off I had a TARDIS outfit to make, then I went to Manchester Comic Con and met Peter Davison!!!! (OMG!!!) then I went on holiday to my favourite place 🙂 Oh and I got a Kitten called Merlin! 

So yeah busy busy!

And now I have a spare hour while Merlin is fast asleep on my mom’s bed to try and get a review done.

Blurb

Sonny Ardmore is an excellent liar. She lies about her dad being in prison. She lies about her mom kicking her out. And she lies about sneaking into her best friends house every nht because she has nowhere else to go.

Amy Rush might be the only person Sonny shares  everything with – secrets, clothes, even a nemesis named Ryder Cross. Ryder’s the new kid at Hamilton High and everything Sonny and Amy can’t stand – a prep school snob. But Ryder has a weakness: Amy. So when Ryder emails Amy asking her out, Sonny sees it as an opportunity to mess with him…

But it soon gets out of control. Sonny’s going to have to lie her way to the truth, without costing her both Ryder and Amy…

This is kind of a companion novel to The Duff. Amy is Wesley’s younger sister and both Wesley and Bianca make a few appearances in the book which was great because I was a huge fan of The Duff. 

Even though Amy and Sonny are best friends, they are both totally different. Amy is shy and let’s Sonny walk all over her, whereas Sonny is loud and confident and lies but somehow they are BFF’s. 

Amy has an admirer in the form of Ryder Cross but has no idea how to tell him that she doesn’t feel the same way. So when Sonny stumbles across an email from Ryder asking Amy out she decides to have a little fun. 

In doing so though, Sonny realises that she’s falling for Ryder and Ryder still thinks he’s talking to Amy over email. 

So Sonny hatches a plan: she gets Amy to be aloof and distant from Ryder so his attention will turn to Sonny. Which works but Amy feels uncomfortable in doing so and it gets too much for her. 

But Sonny had to keep the game up otherwise she could end up loosing both Ryder and Amy…

So I loved The Duff and I loved A Midsummers Nightmare but this one I couldn’t get in to as much as those ones. 

I think it was the characters. Don’t get me wrong I liked Amy. Even though she was this super rich kid and was gorgeous, she didn’t know it. She was shy and quiet and wasn’t bitchy or horrible like those type of girls are usually classed as in other books. She was nice and sweet and I hated how she let Sonny walk all over her. She loves her BFF and is letting her stay in her room as she has nowhere else to go. She’s always there for her and helps her get Ryder, even though it makes her uncomfortable yet Sonny does nothing.

Sonny was a character I didn’t like much. She used Amy for a lot of things and the while Ryder thing was weird. Especially as she pretended to be Amy through most of their interactions. I thought she was a little bit selfish as she didn’t take anyone else’s feelings into account, only her own. She wasn’t that great a friend to Amy either. Her story was a little sad and I felt bad for her but… She redeemed a little at the end but nah… I couldn’t get on with her very well. And I don’t think her and Ryder suited either… 

Ryder was missing his school from where he was from and was an ass to begin with but he became a lot likable and sweet. I do think he should have been with Amy, even if she wasn’t interested. I just couldn’t see him with Sonny. But I’m glad he became less pompus through the book.

Wesley and Bianca showed up too and ey really redeemed the book in my eyes. I loved The Duff and loved those two characters a lot and they were still snippy with each other with the right amount of lovey dovey stuff. 

I think if Sonny was a bit more likable for me I would have enjoyed this book a lot more than I did. I still enjoy Kody’s books but this one just wasn’t as great as the other two I’ve read.

3.5 stars out of 5

Oh and here is me meeting Peter Davison (plus a signed picture!)


And here is Merlin 💜💜

Leave a Reply

