The Problem Wirh Forever by Jennifer L Armentrout 

Standard

Blurb

For some people, silence is a weapon 

For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield.

Growing up in the foster system she learned the best way to survive was to say nothing.

Now, after years of homeschooling withbloving adoptive parents Mallory must face a new milestone – spending her senior year at a normal high school.

But she never imagined she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realise that the connection she shared with Rider never faded. Yet as Rider’s life spirals out of control, Mallory must make a choice between staying silent and speaking out – for the people she loves, the life she wants and the truths that need to be heard.

This was the first JLA book I’ve read in a long time! 

I didn’t realise it was actually out and then my fangirl bestie from across the pond sent it me through Amazon and yay I had it!

Mallory is quiet, she’s learnt that the best way to survive is to not say anything. Her past is complicated. Growing up in the foster system and being in a house with horrible foster parents, you can understand why. But throughout her time there, there was one shining light: Rider Stark. The boy who protected her through everything. 

Then something happened and Mallory was adopted by two doctors, Carl and Rosa, who had there own heartbreak they were dealing with but found a place in their hearts for Mallory.

Mallory is homeschooled but then she decides to take a leap of faith and wants to do her final year in an actual high school.

What she didn’t expect was to see Rider Stark in her class. The boy who was her protector, who now had a life separate from hers, who had a girlfriend and who was totally hot!

It takes Rider by surprise too but they soon realise the connection they had as children is still there and it seems to be stronger than ever this time around. 

Rider has his own foster family, a better family than what they had growing up but Jayden, the younger of the brothers, is in trouble and Rider’s life, as well as Jayden’s older brother, Hector, their grandmother and the people Jayden was friends with, will never be the same again. 

But Mallory knows that to get over the past, she has to speak up and she has to help Rider because in order to save Rider, she must save herself first…

As it was the first JLA book I’d read in a while I was really excited. To be honest I thought it was New Adult but it was actually more like a YA romance. I was looking forward to getting my teeth stuck into some juicy JLA sauce scenes but it was still just as good. 

Mallory is quiet and it makes a change from the usual female characters you read about. Theres a reason shes quiet, a reason she finds it hard to speak and you can’t blame her. She’s a lovable character and a little naive but that’s understandable too. I like feeling proud of her when she finally manages to speak more than one word and I love seeing how much she grows and how she conquers her fears.

Rider is hot just as JLA boys go. He still has a major soft spot for Mallory and the moment he sees her again all those protective urges he has comes back again. Sometimes I felt his protective nature was a little too much but then again you can understand why. He protected Mallory a lot during their time in the foster house. He has his own problems going on with his foster family and he tries to keep Mallory out of it but he can’t always protect her. But its not actually Mallory who needs saving. Its Rider…

Paige is Rider’s girlfriend and even though she is a little bit bitchy at the beginning, I couldn’t actually hate her. I felt a little sorry for her after Rider dumps her because to be honest she couldn’t compete with Mallory. She gives the truth to Mallory, sometimes it is a little horrible what she says and does, but when she does talk to her its the hard truth. And I’m glad it gets through to Mallory. 

Ainsley is Mallory’s best friend who she met while being homeschooled. They are opposites but they work together. Ainsley has he’d own problem in the book too but she’s always on Mallory’s side.

Hector is Riders foster brother and he’s great! Funny and sassy and damn I really hope he and Ainsley have there own book! The chemistry was great!

Jayden…. *SOBS* I loved Jayden but.. You’ll have to read it.

Overall I did enjoy the book but everyone seemed to have problems! Haha I know its in the title but damn there was a lot! 

I liked how it twisted too, like I thought it was Mallory who needed saving from the past but it isn’t, its Rider. I enjoyed that twist. Also, I know they wanted to move on from the past but I would have liked just a little bit more on it. We learn about the reason why they got separated but I think a little bit more would have made you love the characters a bit more… Does that make sense or is it just in my head (I’ve been up for like 15 hours so I appologise if not!)

The speech that Mallory does at the end is great and as I said, you feel so proud! And the Velveteen Rabbit… I may need to read e book because there’s a bit of that book in here and it looks so so so good! 

It wasn’t one of my favourite JLA book, that’s reserved for the Lux series and the Covenant books, but it was still good. 

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

