The Next Together by Lauren James

Standard

I swore I was going to get better at doing reviews and then I fell off the face of the earth and had busy weeks at work…

But I’m back!

 

23266378.jpg

 

Blurb:

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again.

Each time they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Maybe the next together will be different…

Katherine and Matthew are lost souls, falling in love time and time again only to be separated by tragic events.

The year 2039 and Katherine meets Matthew in science class, both of them feel some sort of connection to each other but they can’t figure out what.

When Katherine goes to see her Grandmothers she sees a picture of their daughter who died when she was young and she realises there is something there, that it can’t be a coincidence that she looks exactly like her and Katherine’s husband, Matthew, is the spitting of image of Matthew in school.

When the pair start investigating into how they died, they reveal that things aren’t quite what they seem and when this years Katherine and Matthew share a kiss they unlock secrets of other past lives together.

Can they stop the inevitable happening? Or will tragedy strike them just like it did all those years ago?

I was hooked by the blurb. I have a thing for reincarnation and I tried to write my own but didn’t go well.. anyway hooked by the blurb.

It started good, I did enjoy it, but the whole swapping the era’s in each chapter eventually got a little bit tiring because just as I was getting into an era about Katherine and Matthew, the next chapter swapped so abruptly that I had to then get into another era only to have to swapped again.

If that makes any sense at all!

There was also a lot of science involved in the modern era and I got confused because I am not science orientated. I don’t understand science at all haha.

I think the story went on a little too much and the ending seemed a little rushed. Like she just wanted to book finished before starting on the second one. Plus I felt a little deflated because nothing seemed resolved. The people at the end of every era who had logged what was happening wasn’t explained and the end there was a little plot twist but I didn’t get it.

It was probably just me. I’m sure other people understood what was happening and liked it but I was in the middle… I liked it and didn’t like it.

3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

