Magisterium Iron Trials by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare

Standard

23299980

 

 

Blurb:

Call has no idea what he’ll come up against in THE IRON TRIAL but he knows that if he passes the test, he’ll become a student of magic at the Magisterium.

Only, all his life, Call’s been warned to stay away from magic, so he tries his best to do his worst – but fails at failing.

Now he must enter the Magisterium, and it’s even more sensational and sinister than he could ever imagine…

Okay so I will admit one thing; I didn’t finish the book.

I couldn’t get into it as much as I thought I would and I really love Cassie and the only Holly Black books I read were the Tithe books and I loved them.

But this one I couldn’t get into to.

Let me explain a little about the book.

A young boy enters the Iron Trials in order to see if he’s fit enough to go to magic school. Callum has heard nothing but bad stuff about the Magisterium and so tries to fail his tests. But still ends up going anyway.

He ends up being tutored by a brilliant professor and ends up in a group with two other people; Aaron and Tamara. They go through this moving sand with your mind test and end up passing the big group test they do with other students. Then Callum ends up secretly phoning his dad and finds a letter to the school telling them to bind his magic when he leaves….

And that’s as far as I got.

The story was a good one; going to magic school, leaning magic, seeing other students come back from trying defeat the evil magician, a long a go war, students that hate him but two friends that’ll become best friends…

Sounds a little familiar to Harry Potter right?!

That’s one of the reasons I picked it up. I love Harry Potter. Like seriously love HP. I grew up with it, know the words to the movies etc and I thought the Magisterium would be another cool HP style book.

It is but unlike HP I couldn’t get into it.

I don’t know if its whether I’m an adult now and the Magisterium is aimed at younger kids or whether HP has ruined me for other magic school books.

I know Cassie is a big JK Rowling fan, we all are, but the book was similar to her books. I don’t know if other people thought that or whether they loved it but for me… I just couldn’t.

I can’t even talk about the characters because I kinda forgot about them to be honest so this is going to be one short review.

Sorry.

3.75 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

