Forever with You by J Lynn

Standard

24357334

Blurb:

Some things you just believe in, even if you’ve never experienced them. For Stephanie, that list includes love. It’s out there. Somewhere. Eventually. Meanwhile she’s got her job at the mixed martial arts training center and hot flings with gorgeous, temporary guys like Nick. Then a secret brings them closer, opening Steph’s eyes to a future she never knew she wanted – until tragedy rips it away.

Nick’s self-assured surface shields a past no one needs to know about. His mind blowing connection with Steph changes all that. As fast as he’s knocking down walls that have kept him commitment free, she’s building them up again, determined to keep the hurt – and Nick- out. But he can’t walk away. Not when she’s the only one who’s ever made him wish for forever…

This story in the Wait for You books is about Nick and Steph who we saw in the bar together at the end f Roxy and Reece’s story. It follows the pair as they have a one night stand and the consequences after.

Nick is a play boy if you like. He has one night stands with girls and thats it. He doesn’t see them again after that and they don’t go into Mona’s.

Enter Steph, the girl Katie predicted was the one for Nick. The girl who does have a one night stand with Nick but doesn’t want to follow his rules.

The pair have a connection, a connection they can no longer deny as the books go one.

Then Steph becomes pregnant and that’s where things get a little complicated but they learn to adapt. Until tragedy strikes.

Can they get back together and get their forever?

Okay shortest summary ever but if I give a long one I’ll give the whole plot away.

We’ve seen Steph briefly in past books, (Cam and Avery’s, Jase and Tess’s). Steph always came across as strong and sassy and sometimes a little bit of a bitch (well that’s the way it came across sometimes). But in this book I couldn’t quite see those qualities. Sure you got to see a different side to her but I couldn’t quite connect to her. I called a lot of the stuff that happened to her too.

Nick was the same, sure he was hot and had all the qualities JLA men have but I called a lot of the things that happened to him also. Nothing seemed to shock me like it has done with previous books in this series.

The book sucked in, like all JLA books do but something about this one couldn’t make me connect with the characters. I liked them don’t get me wrong I didn’t hate them and what happened was a tragedy and thousands of women go through it and I feel really sorry for them but I don’t know. I think that was the only thing that made me feel for them in the book.They are great characters and I always wanted to know more about them when they were brifely mentioned in other books but sometimes they didn’t seem like the characters we’d seen before. They were changed somehow. I don’t know maybe it was just me who couldn’t gel with them.

Nick was great when it came to dealing with Steph and he knew what he wanted from her but the whole running around each other and having Steph push him then pull him away drove me insane. I wanted to slap her. It was obvious he loved her and she still couldn’t see it despite everyone always saying that he was. Nick was really sweet and he was hot and attentive and he had a past (which I called) and he has a connection to another character in the book (also called).

Steph was pretty cool in the beginning and seemed like the character we’d seen before but she did annoy me a little bit. I don’t know why. I couldn’t say why there was just something there. What happens to her and Nick, even though I called it, was upsetting and when she breaks down to Katie that is also upsetting.

The story is great. I do love JLA but this isn’t one of my favourites from the series. My favourite three are the first three in the series. I loved Roxy and Reece’s story too but first three are the best. Well to me they are anyway.

I’ve heard the next book in this series is her last one and I hope JLA does the story on Brock and Jillian because I have a feeling that story is going to be amazing. (Brock is mentioned from the third book and Jillian is mentioned in this book)

Oh and the one thing that made me squee because I love them oh so much is Cam and Avery…. OMG! 🙂

4 out of 5 stars.

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

