Book Girl and the Suicidal Mime by Mizuki Nomura

Standard

I’ve been behind. Not only on book reviews but on reading too. I haven’t had a lot of time and I was going to do some yesterday but it was my birthday so I didn’t. 
Anyway I found time tonight to do these two!

image

Blurb

The Book Girl brings a whole new meaning to the phrase ‘devouring a good book’ in this fun, charming, fantasy novel series about the wonders of the written word. This series is sure to please fans of YA fantasy and librarians across the board!

Tohko Amano is a book scarfing goblin who spends a lot of her time in the library with her one friend Konoha Inoue.
Konoha spends most of his time writing stories for Tohko and trying to ignore his past.
Chia Takeda comes into there lives when she wants Konoha to write her love letters to the boy she loves. Konoha feels uneasy at first but soon agrees to it when Tohko persuades him.
At first things are okay but they soon start taking a dark twist…

I just started watching Anime and my friend told me about these books that she has. It’s not like Manga (which I haven’t read yet either) but they do have illustrations in them.

When I started reading The Book Girl it was fun, light and charming. I loved the idea of a book eating goblin because in a way wouldn’t us book girls want to know what our favourite book tastes like?

Soon after the fun and charming narration turned dark. Things were happening at you couldn’t quite get your head around them at first.

The book is told through Konoha’s POV but you also see another narrator, someone unknown, who talks about there life. About how they are alone and puts on a front. How they killed someone and how they this mysterious person whose name starts with ‘S’ will be the death of them. 

Konoha has a secret of his own and I have a feeling we haven’t heard everything about his story just yet. If you’ve ever watched Natsume Yuujinchou, that’s who Konoha reminds me if sometimes. Sweet and loving and is sometimes alone. He’s friendly and quiet and easily gets roped into writing stories for Tohko to eat. I wanted to hug him haha.

Tohko is a book girl who eats books. She has knowledge of a lot of books. She’s funny and charming and you can’t help but love her. She’s easily likable just like Konoha. I’d love to know what a book about her would taste like!

Chia is aloof and clumsy and sweet. I can’t say much about her without giving much away but you definitely have to keep an eye on her. I wanted to take her hand and help her. She’s just so lovely and lost.

Konoha gets caught up in the mystery, determined to understand what happened but the girl Chia is being mysterious too.

Everything comes to a dramatic conclusion and even I was like WHAT?!

The book also has quotes from the book ‘No Longer Human’ which is also a big part of this book. I’ve never read the book and part of me doesn’t want to. It seems dark and alone and it would definitely take you to a dark place.

I did really enjoy this book. Obviously it wasn’t Manga but I can now say I’ve read a Japanese book 🙂

If you want a book that’s fun and that also takes a dark twist and is also Japanese then this is for you.

I can’t wait to read more about Tohko and Konoha.

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

