See Me by Wendy Higgins book review

Standard

The piles are getting bigger again! I’m getting through book quicker than I can review them. So here’s the first three reviews. The next three will follow later!
So the first one is….

image

image

I also had this edition signed too!

Blurb:

While most seventeen-year-old Anerican girls would refuse to let their parents marry them off to a stranger, Robyn Mason dreams of the mysterious McKale in Ireland, wondering how he’ll look and imagining his cute Irish accent. Prearranged bindings are common for magical families like ber own, however when she travels to the whimsical Emerald Isle she discovers there’s more to her betrothal and McKale’s clan than she could have imagined.
  What starts as an obligatory pairing between Robyn and McKale morphs over time into something they both need. But one giant obstacle stands in the way of their budding romance: a seductive and deadly Fae princess accustomed to getting what she wants-and what she wants is McKale as her plaything.
   Love, desire, and jealousies collide as Robyn’s family and McKale’s clan must work together to outsmart the powerful Faeries and preserve the only hope left for their people.

OMGEEEEE!

I loved Wendy Higgins from the moment I read the Sweet Evil trilogy. I found a sense of JLA in her writing with hot guys and hot making out scenes.

And then there was this one… combining two of my favourite things: Ireland and magical beings.

And it didn’t disappoint!

From the first page I was hooked. It tells the story as to how Robyn and McKale were betrothed. A chance meeting between her parents, her as a baby and the Summer Kings Mistress. The contract is binding.

17 years later and Robyn and her family are getting ready to go to Ireland to see McKale and his clan… there’s as to who McKale’s clan is and well… I did laugh when I found that out! (I am SO not spoiling the truth of who he is haha but it is revealed that he’s the tallest of the clan!)

So of course Robyn is now in a state of shock and in a state of WTF?! But when she meets McKale it becomes clear that he is what her parents said. He’s tall, taller than her and she’s thrilled!

Not only that but he’s drop dead handsome and he can’t seem to take his eyes of her.

It goes of on a few bad starts and when the psycho Faery,  Khalistah, makes it clear that McKale is hers and that he is not to see Robyn again it makes things even harder. Especially when Robyn catches the two in an embrace and it becomes obvious that Robyn is falling McKale she promptly pushes him away.

But somehow they make it work and before you know it they are having a steamy make out session after sneaking out with Cassidy (her sister) and Rock (his BFF) to a club in Ireland.

After that they have to overcome Khalistah’s claim to McKale, they have to do the bonding ceremony and hopefully, just hopefully, tell each other that they love each other and start a life together.

This was packed with tension from the beginning.  Everything about this book was hooking and I couldn’t put it down.

Robyn is a brilliant female MC. She’s fiesty when she can be and she has a vulnerable side too. She’s imagined what McKale would look like all her life, she came into this binding feeling positive but time and time again all her positivity gets lower and lower throughout the whole McKale and Khalistah thing. And McKale constantly threw her caring for him thing back at her in the beginning as he didn’t belive her. But despite all of that I loved how she picked herself again and again with the help of her sister and her family and in the end it all pays off!

McKale… oh McKale. I loved him! Especially as he wasn’t cocky, he wasn’t arrogant and he didn’t knwo he was hot (like a lot of our other book boys we all love!) He was shy, and quiet and he doesn’t know of the effect he has on Robyn.
At the beginning he’s reserved, he’s shy, he doesn’t know what to make of all of the affection coming from Robyn and he doesn’t believe that she can truly care for him. Its only when they go on a few dates and they kiss and she gives him the gifts she’s collected over the years he finally realises that she cares for him and you can see the moment that they fall for each other. When he becomes a bit more confident in himself and their relationship its sexy! And the binding night… bow chicka wow wow! Hahaha

Khalistah… she’s a bitch. Thats all you need to know. I didn’t like her and I’m glad what the Summer King did!

Cassidy, Robyn’s sister, is brilliant as her other half. She’s sassy and she gets Robyn up and up again when she’s knocked down. She starts a relationship with Rock, McKale’s best friend, who is cocky and arrogant and hot too! Their relationship comes fast and hard and it was heartbreaking with what happened at the end to Rock 😦

But all in all everything about this book I loved. I also loved how Wendy wrote her words in the style of an Irish accent. Yer instead of You, that sort of thing. It made the accent stronger and more real in my mind (I LOVE the Irish accent!)

The world she created was magical and I actually imagined I was in the Emerald Isle a few times too.

I just wish this could have been a trilogy instead of a one off book because I was seriously left with wanting more.

Wendy can you write one about them thats like 2 years in the future? I want to see McKale and Robyn together, I want to see what happens with Cassidy and Rock and I want to see if McKale and Robyn have bambino’s yet!

Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease!?

I loved it. Go read it!

In retrospect I can say it was during those hours of video-watching under the tree that I fell in love with McKale. As he watched me transform from an awkward new teen to a young woman on the screen, I watched him change from a jaded young man to a man who realized he’d been wanted all along.
    I watched him heal, and I knew he finally saw the truth-he finally saw me.

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

