A Shade of Kiev and A Shade of Kiev 2 by Bella Forrest book reviews

Standard

OMG I’am so behind on book reviews!
This is what happens when you get your reading mojo back and you go through books like crazy!

So I’ve finally tore my eyes away from the book I was reading (which was so hard because the book is soooooooo good!)

So here are the first two reviews (They are from the same trilogy and I haven’t read the last one yet so I thought I’d just review them together)

A Shade of Kiev

22728764

 

Blurb:

My name is Kiev Novalic. I am a vampire, and a murderer.

Having betrayed the trust of my own kind and that of the enemies I sold myself to, I have three days left to live.

I stare at the girl in the cell opposite mine. Mona, she calls herself. A witch born without magic.

She might be my key to freedom, but I should know to stay away.

I should know: some scars are etched too deep to heal.

A Shade of Kiev 2

23607228

Blurb:

There is much about my past that I have never revealed to anyone.

Nobody knows that, before I lost myself, I was a physician’s apprentice.

I have witnessed countless human illnesses.

But I have lived for centuries and never come across a vampire being sick with anything other than his own darkness.

Until today.

I’m staring at my blood on the floor and a raging migraine is taking hold of me.

I’m not sure what to make of it…

So these books follow Kiev, the vampire we saw in the Shade of Vampire books. The first book follows on from where Kiev let Sofia, Derek and the others escape from the Hawks.

In the first one Kiev has exactly five days to live before he is killed for treason. Then he meets Mona, the powerless witch in the cell opposite him and he escapes with her.

From there its clear that Mona does not like him and Kiev isn’t particularly fond of her either but he needs her to get him to safety. Which she does… for a little while.

While on the Island that he’s meant to be safe at, the people there are ready to kill him; again and its only because of Saira, one of Mona’s ship mates, that he gets saved.

Then he ends up on Mona’s island and Kiev is given a task; become her friend.

But Mona isn’t really willing to co-operate, until she realises that she can use this new found friendship to help herself finish the book she’s been writing so she writes a note to Kiev, detailing the person he should become and she’s going to do the same.

The lines get blurred slightly as to what they are feeling for each other but it becomes clear that they soon do start to care for each other…

But can it last?

In the second book it shows Mona has left the Island and Kiev behind to get away. She offers her services to the Ogre’s but it soon becomes clear that she is not suited to do the tasks they have been given her, especially when she sees things she really wished she didn’t.

Then there’s Kiev, trying to get Mona out of his system by sleeping with the blonde vampire whose taken with him. Sounds easy enough but when he starts getting raging migraine’s and coughing up blood Kiev realises that not everything is okay.

So he’s given a task that will take him away from the Island, go to the enemies island and take one of their witches… Sounds easy enough but when Kiev gets there, his migraine’s stop and so does all the other ailments he has.

Mona meanwhile is back in the clutches of, shall we, the evil ex. Rhys. The one who put the curse on her in the first place. Its clear that something is going on with him and the other witches of the “Cause” he’s apart of and when he takes Mona on a trip to another island, she’s face to face with Kiev once again.

But Kiev has some other pressing things on his mind, especially when the Island’s rulers turn out to be the two people he never thought he’d see again…

Will they escape? And will they finally admit they have feelings for each other?

Okay so theses books… I enjoyed the Shade of Vampire books and I really wanted to enjoy these too but I couldn’t quite get into them and connect with them as I did the characters in SoV.

Mona… For some reason I couldn’t get along with her very well and most of the time I just wanted to slap her because of how she acted. She frustrated me sometimes and I couldn’t… I don’t know but I couldn’t get on with her. Even when some of her past was revealed I still couldn’t like her…

Kiev I did like because he was one of those characters in SoV that intrigued me and I really wanted to know more about him. Which we did… sort of. The flashback at the beginning of book 2 interested me but I wanted more of it. I wanted to know more about Kiev’s personality from when he was human but we only saw bits.

The things I did like… I liked the witches… they intrigued me in these books because they were so unlike Corrine in SoV that I couldn’t get my head around them. They acted like the were vampires but they weren’t so I’m interested to see what damage they will cause in the last book.

The book was a little slow too, we had a lot of action and things happening in SoV that I was hoping for more of the same in the Kiev books but they didn’t quite have the pow that SoV had

I enjoyed them but not as much as I thought I would have. Still a good read though, I’m looking forward o seeing how the story is going to end

Leave a Reply

