My Top Books of 2014 (plus a few that I couldn’t quite get along with)

Standard

This was a pretty traumatic ordeal… trying to narrow down all the books I’ve read in 2014 to just 10 of my favourite! But, amongst all the hair pulling and nail biting and some other frustrating behavior, I managed to do it!

Its in no particular order as I honestly have no idea what would be number one and what would come in at five etc etc… so here’s my…

Top 10 Books of 2014

10. How To Love by Katie Cotugno (YA)

image

I loved this book from the first page. Split between the past and the present it tells the story of teenagers Serena and Sawyer, of how they loved and lost and of how they overcame obstacles. But when Sawyer leaves and Serena is left behind she has to deal with the heartbreak and the family fallout because of the bomb she’s just dropped on them all.
When Sawyer comes back into her life a year later the love is still there. But will they get together and prove that their love is stronger now they’ve been apart? And can they learn How To Love?

9. If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Foreman (YA)

image

Too many feels!
Mia has her life ahead of her. She has a perfect, albeit slightly different, family, a brilliant best friend and she’s in love with her up and coming rocker boyfriend Adam. Then one day her life is turned upside down. She’s in a car accident that kills her family. She’s hanging on by a thread and through a series a past and present flashes we see how Mia has the choice of whether to stay with the people left in her life or to just let it all go and be with her family.
Where She Went is from Adam’s POV and it follows a year or so after If I Stay, how he’s feeling being famous, how he still loves Mia, despite the fact they are no longer together and how in one night, when he sees Mia again coming out of a concert hall, everything changes…

8. Sweet Evil Trilogy by Wendy Higgins (YA. Sweet Evil, Sweet Peril, Sweet Reckoning)

image

Sexy… hot… full of demons and angels and just…. AAAAAAHHHHHH!
Sweet Evil trilogy is about Ana Whitt (an Angel) and Kaidan Rowe (a lust demon) who come into each others lives. Ana is taken by Kaidan’s desirable and sexy good looks but not everything is as it seems. Kaidan knows he’s not good enough for Ana. She’s pure, he’s not. But he just can’t stay away from her. Through a series of really big events, demon fathers and plots to take over the world Ana and Kaidan has to stick together in order to defeat them. But can their love survive?

7. The Selection trilogy by Keira Cass (YA. The Selection, The Elite, The One.)

image

OMG! THESE BOOKS!
America is in love with her best friend Aspen, their relationship is being kept a secret until he can get enough money to marry her. But when the Selection is broadcast on TV, America’s name is called. She’s off to the Palace to win the heart of Prince Maxon…
Through a series of problems, heartbreak, friendship, rebels, love and fighting you see America grow into a strong woman whose not afraid to tell people what she thinks, to letting go of old loves and to try and win the heart of Maxon. Even if it seems as though he’s falling for someone else… Will she win the love of her life or will everything come crumbling down around her…?

6. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover (NA)

image

The only New Adult book in the list! Full of feels… literally… Too. Many. Feels.
Sydney finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her with her best friend and roommate, on her birthday! The mysterious guy in the next appartment offers her the spare room which she takes. During their time together writing songs for Ridge’s band,  Sounds of Cedar, they realise they’ve fallen for each other. But Ridge has a long term girlfriend… is Sydney’s heart about to be broken again? And can Ridge decide who it is he wants to be with?

5. Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas (YA. Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire. First three books in the series)

image

These books were just… feels and feels and just…
These books follow the Assassin Celaena Sardothien on her quest for freedom. Taken from her slavery she’s promised freedom after three years if she becomes the King’s Champion. But there’s a problem… the King is the one who murdered her family, and is still killing countless others and sending the rest to the Salt Mines to be slaves. Can she really be a Champion to a King she despises?
Through a series of, sometimes violent events, we see why Celaena was so feared as an Assassin, we see her fall in love for the first time, see her heart break, friendships broken and secrets get revealed… secrets that could change everything…

4. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo (YA. Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, Ruin and Rising.)

image

These books!! I just… so so so so many feels and its just… I can’t…
Alina and best friend Mal are orphans who join the Army. While crossing into the Fold, Alina sees half of her friends massacred by the creatures that live there. Mal is injured and, without knowing, she summons light to destroy the creatures. From then her life changes. She’s under The Darklings rule now and she’s told that the pair of them can free the Fold… but can the Darkling be trusted? Is her feelings for him real? Can she ever be with Mal? Through a series of extremely tense and too many feels like events we see how Alina becomes powerful, how she’s determined to destroy the Darkling, how her friendship and relationship with Mal fares, how her heart gets broken and how she must rise up to meet her destiny…

3. The Duff by Kody Keplinger (YA)

image

AAAAAHHHH! OMG! I loved this book from the first sentence!
Bianca is told by man whore of the school Wesley Rush that she is The Duff: The “Designated Ugly Fat Friend” of her group of friends.
She despises Wesley but when they’re put together to work on an English project its clear that there is more than just hatred between them. With Bianca using him to get over her problems at home and everywhere else. But when there “just sex” relationship turns comfortable and right between them Bianca knows its time to leave… because Wesley Rush?!
This books sees Bianca realise that she’s not a Duff, that there’s more to people that we see and most importantly… Wesley Rush isn’t as everyone sees him.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (YA)

image

Kath is me! Its like Rainbow wrote a book based on all the fangirls out there! Loved it loved it LOVED IT!
Kath and her twin Wren couldn’t be more different. Growing up they wrote fanfiction, now they’re in University, Wren is sexy and drinking and dating boys, Kath is in her room writing FanFiction and being a fangirl. Then comes Levi, the boy whose determined to get Kath, whose developing feelings for him too. But when they kiss one night Levi goes AWOL of sorts and Kath sees him kissing someone else at a party. Can Levi win her back? Can Kath survive the ending of her beloved Simon Snow books and will she finish her Simon Snow fanfic in time? Its not all fangirl stuff though, there’s a story, there’s Kath growing up and realising that she’s actually perfect the way she is, fall outs with her twin, meeting the mother who walked out on them and problems with her dad. Full of real drama and absolutely brilliant and lovable characters this book is perfect for FanGirls everywhere!

1. Winger by Andrew Smith (YA)

image

Just pure brilliance! I honestly have no idea what I read… it was… god this brief review won’t do this book justice because ITS JUST AMAZING AND BRILLIANT AND AWESOME AND… READ IT!
This book follows Fourteen year old Ryan Dean the youngest in his year at boarding school and the winger on his school Rugby team. He’s in love with his best friend Annie Altman and he’s having problems with some of the other boys in the team. He’s convinced his roommate, Betch,  will one day kill him,  he’s secretly getting off with Betch’s girlfriend behind his back and then theres the fact that he and Annie shared a kiss but she won’t admit that she’s in love with him! Oh and also his new best friend Joey is the gay rugby player and he’s having his own problems!
This book is full of drama and problems and falling in love. Things in this book will make you laugh and make you cry. Make you angry and make you smile. Its everything a book should be!

So they are my top 10 books of 2014. I know my brief descriptions didn’t really do these books justice but honestly if I went into too much detail I’d end up telling you all the whole story! Please do check these books out, I promise you you won’t be disappointed. If you want to read more about them then these books have been reviewed on my blog!

And now comes the books I couldn’t quite get on with… I hate having to do this but there are books out there that people don’t like and I’m afraid my three are here… they are a mixture of books too…

3. Mortiswood Kaelia Awakening by Gina Dickerson (YA?)

image

This was part of a blog tour I did and its the first book in the trilogy. I couldn’t get on with it. Things jumped too quickly and I couldn’t bond with Kaelia (the MC) like I can with other books. I believe it would have been better in first person instead of third person. I just… I found it hard to read. It could have been a really good book and some people might have really really liked it but I’m afraid it just wasn’t for me.

2. Letting Go by Maya Banks (Erotica.  First book in the trilogy)

image

I just… the MC Joss annoyed the hell out of me. Honestly. I could have strangled her. She was too easy to give in to Dash,  too easy to accept things and I think she was a little naive. It was a bit too… it was just Joss… if they’d had made her a stronger character I would have liked her but she ruined the story. And the one sex scene… I found it to be too much… the other two books did redeem themselves slightly with book two and book three being a bit more… dramatic but the first book… no.

1. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks (Fiction)

image

I’ll probably end up with a torrent of abuse because I know people love this book but… it wasn’t for me. I couldn’t get on with it at all, I found it boring (don’t hurt me!) And at times slow. The movie was by far a lot better than the book. It was a bit too sappy for me. I like romance but sometimes its like… errr too much people! I do have some other Sparks books at home and I have read the sequel to this book but that was only marginally better. I do want to at least like one or two of his books because he has such a big fanbase and people go crazy over the books but because I found The Notebook and the sequel The Wedding slow its put me off reading the others. I will try again on another of his books but The Notebook… sorry… it just didn’t do it for me.

Leave a Reply

