Solitaire by Alice Oseman book review

Standard

image

Blurb

“I don’t ever remember not being serious. As far as I’m concerned, I came out of the womb spouting cynicism and wishing for rain.”

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do. And I don’t care about Michael Holden.
I really don’t.

Tori Spring is on her way back to Higgs sixth form after her Christmas break. Not that she’s really looking forward to it.

On her first day back she notices post it notes with arrows drawn on them that leads somewhere and she’s the only one whose seen them… so naturally she follows them.

She ends up in an empty computer room with a post it note stuck on one computer with a web address written on it. After typing in the address it leads her to an empty blog page.

While in the room she meets the enigmatic Michael Holden who then presides to constantly be in her life… whether she wants him to or not.

Then comes another boy into her life;  Lucas. The guy who she was BFF’s with in first school. He’s nervous and can’t stop blushing whenever he’s around her and, oh dear god, he’s a hipster!

She has her best friend Becky and the group that makes up the rest of “Our Lot” so she really doesn’t need any more people in her life!

Solitaire is the empty blog that soon starts  terrorising the school and its sixth form pupils but it soon becomes clear that the blog isn’t as safe and innocent as it first turned out to be.

People start getting hurt and it soon becomes clear to Tori that, somehow, the blog is aimed at her.

But why?
And who is behind it?

And why oh why has she started getting all feely for Michael Holden?

This book shouldn’t have been read over the Christmas period! It was really good!

Tori is this pessimistic teenager who can’t see the good in anything so when Solitaire starts and she meets Michael you can see the strain its putting on her. She didn’t feel, she didn’t care about things apart from her brother Charlie who has some mental health problems but when Solitaire starts getting more and more erratic and her friendship with Michael starts getting more involved, she starts to care. Really care. Because no one else is.

In some way I think Tori was going through some mental health problems herself, especially when the last prank Solitaire does sees her being trapped in a burning building. You see the indecision in her. Does she let it all end and kill herself? So maybe she has some sort of depression?  I couldn’t quite pinpoint what it was but something was wrong with her.

Then Michael… I think I loved him from the moment he was introduced. He was enigmatic and eccentric but even he had problems. He couldn’t fit in, couldn’t make friends and then there’s Tori and to ge honest I think he loved her from the start. And the fact he had two different coloured eyes made me think of Dominic Sherwood haha SEXY!

But seriously I really did enjoy this book. Everyone had there own quirks but deep down you could tell there was something wrong. They depicted high school English teenagers well and showed us that not everyone is perfect.

And the person who was behind all the blog? I honestly didn’t guess it myself because I thought I knew who it was and the reason why was a real “WHAT THE HELL?!” moment!

Brilliant first book from an up and coming young author.

5 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

