Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick book review

Standard

image

Blurb

Hot. Cold. Deadly.

Britt Pfeiffer has never been very adventurous, but that’s about to change. Wanting to impress her ex-boyfriend, Britt convinces her best friend, Korbie, to take a hiking trip with her. But when a freak storm leaves the girls stranded, they seek shelter in a secluded cabin – where they find two handsome rescuers. Or so they think.

Britt realises that she and Korbie need to get off the mountain fast, and so begins a treacherous journey through the ice and snow. But is gorgeous, mysterious Mason an enemy – or an ally?

Britt wants her ex boyfriend Calvin back, but to do that she needs to prove that she can be independent and that she can think for herself, she’s grown up and she can be the adventurous girl he clearly wants.

So on break from school she gets her best friend Korbie to go hiking with her. Of course Korbie’s boyfriend and her brother Calvin are coming along… to keep them in line.

But on the way up to the mountains a freak snow storm heads their way and they’re trapped.

Or so they assume.

They head towards what seems to be an abandoned cabin but instead they come across two attractive and hot guys. One doesn’t want to let them in but the other is more than willing to let them in.

From there that’s where things go wrong and deadly.

Sean kidnaps the two girls and Mason is the accomplice…

They need to get off the mountains and away from the police so Britt agrees to help them so they won’t kill Korbie. That way she can get gelp and besides, Calvin is surely loolinh for them.

But its soon obvious that Mason isn’t who he says he is and neither for that matter is Calvin…

But Britt is torn between her head and heart. Her head is saying Calvin… but her heart is saying Mason… the guy whose kidnapped her and is running from the police.

One thing connects them all together though;  murder and its not long before all the news reports about the murdered girls in the mountains start to come out…

And one of them is the killer.

So this was alot different from the Hush Hush series Becca wrote. Those I loved. This one… I’m still not sure about.

It was full of mystery and it kept you guessing from the beginning who the killer was and I got confused along with Britt when things started to surface and half the time I didn’t know who to trust but Britt… I don’t know… she annoyed me.

She was too dependant on other people for everything. She liked being this kind of spoilt girl who had her dad brother and even Calvin running after her and it bugged me. Because I’m so used to seeing independent girls in books or girls who are strong that she really got on my nerves. She got a bit bettet throughout the book as she started doing things for herself but…

Then there was Mason (or so he says) whose dark and mysterious and draws you in and keeps you guessing throughout it all. He was a cool character because half the time even I didn’t knwo if he was good or bad.

Korbie was spoilt and she drobe me nuts… I’m glad she wasn’t in it much.

Calvin… what Britt saw in him is beyond me. He was smarmy and knew he was the bees knees and it put me off him. I have no idea what she saw in him. Okay his father was a bully to him which kind of made you feel bad for him but other than that I couldn’t like him.

Apart from the character traits that annoyed me the story concept was really good. I liked the mystery and the intrigue and the whole suspense kept you guessing throughout it all. It was written in Becca’s style which I was glad but it was more darker than Hush Hush which proved she was a good writer.

Britt did kind of grow on me. Not much but she did and I was glad she became less dependant on males at the end of it. Her and Mason did make a good team together and they you could see they fell in love with each other (a bit quickly though mind! 4 days…) but the things they went through and the fact they helped each other cemented that relationship.

It was a really good YA suspense/thriller book because it did keep you on your toes but I still prefer Hush Hush.

I’m gutted it was a standalone book… I honestly thought it was going to be another series with another supernatural guy to fall for… but it wasn’t and it was okay haha

I want another supernatural series from her again though because she writes hot guys haha

4 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

