Cursed by Jennifer L Armentrout

Standard

The last review! Then I can get on with reading Silver Shadows haha

 

cursed

 

Blurb:

Dying sucks
…and high school senior Ember McWilliams knows firsthand.

After a fatal car accident, her gifted little sister brought her back. Now anything Ember touches dies. And that, well, really blows.

Ember operates on a no-touch policy with all living things–including boys. When Hayden Cromwell shows up, quoting Oscar Wilde and claiming her curse is a gift, she thinks he’s a crazed cutie. But when he tells her he can help control it, she’s more than interested. There’s just one catch: Ember has to trust Hayden’s adopted father, a man she’s sure has sinister reasons for collecting children whose abilities even weird her out. However, she’s willing to do anything to hold her sister’s hand again. And hell, she’d also like to be able to kiss Hayden. Who wouldn’t?

But when Ember learns the accident that turned her into a freak may not’ve been an accident at all, she’s not sure who to trust. Someone wanted her dead, and the closer she gets to the truth, the closer she is to losing not only her heart, but her life.

For real this time.

 

JLA YOU’VE DONE IT AGAIN!

There’s a reason why you are one of my favourite authors.

I seriously cannot put my thoughts about this book into words. I just want to scream

When I picked up Cursedin Waterstones I was like a woman possessed. I wanted to start squealing and jumping round like a crazy woman but people already think I am so I thought I’d wait until I got home to do that!

Then after reading Cursed, even though I had a major headache from reading all night I did a weird sort of dance on my bed because the book was AMAZING!

Cursed is definitely 100% different from all her other books but it is just as addictive and brilliant. I think this really shows her versatility as an author and I am convinced that there is no author in this world that is better than she.

Ember is such an amazing character. I  loved her.

I really felt for ember because she can’t touch anything, less she kills them, and all she wants in the world is to able to have someone hold her and love her and to touch her sister without her dying.

Then she gets kidnapped by the Cromwells and while there she’s made to feel the outsider, just like she was at school after she came back from the accident that killed her. While everyone else avoids her there is one person who will do anything to get close to her.

Meet Hayden.

Hot damn where do I begin? 

He is just the perfect guy. I another  book boyfriend courtsey of JLA.

He is so sweet and perfect and he is the character every girl wishes was real and that they’d fall in love with her. He’s so adorable. And hot! Very hot! Prepare to drool and swoon and sigh. A LOT! But really what did you expect, all of Jennifer’s lead male characters make you drool and swoon and sigh. I have never in my life read such a hot scene where the characters aren’t even touching.

Hayden is determined to show Ember that her powers are a gift, not a curse but he’s going to have to earn her trust to do that.

He tries teaching her how to harness her powers better, tries telling her that if she lets go of all the bad things she thinks of herself she’ll be able to see that its a gift she’s been given.

But Ember is convinced his family is behind the accident that killed her dad and in some way her.

They know too much, they keep things from her and they look like psychopathic killers. But she trusts Hayden so surely they can’t be that bad?

Hayden and ember do have a fight and Ember is convinced that Hayden hates her and when she sees Hayden cuddling up to Pheobe and her little sister being welcomed into the family, she’s convinced that they’d be better off without her and makes a run for it.

But she gets hurt, shot and Ember is convinced that someone in the family is trying to kill her.

What she doesn’t count on is her new form teacher Mr. Theo. He’s a nice guy, he can connect with her. Surely the guy wants to help her?

Or is there something else that Ember isn’t seeing?

She believes its the Cromwell’s whose hurt her family, but is she on the wrong path?

Seriously though this book…

I couldn’t put it down. Much like the rest of her books this one was addictive and seriosuly the scenes between Hayden and Ember were HOT! Even though they couldn’t touch. How does that happen?

And when she does finally think of her power as a gift rather than a curse… her and Hayden… OMG!

I loved how concerned he was that he was going to hurt Ember with his gifts, despite the fact that she could kill him if they touched! That just showed me how much he loved her, before he even told her.

I know this is a standalone novel but please woman write something else to do with this! The ending was brilliant but I have to know if she manages to to touch him for more than a few minutes and if they finally can do the deed (I’m a perv I know!)

I am never disappointed with any JLA books. She’s an amazing writer, one that manages to hook you from the very first page and makes unforgettable characters. And really really hot book boys! And her female characters are brilliant too. They know their own minds, they won’t get pushed around and they stand up for what they believe in, even if sometimes they have got it wrong (but we forgive them for that, they are human afterall!)

 I love Jennifer and I love her books.

This is totally one I would read again!

Just please write a mini novella with Hayden and Ember… PLEASE!?

 

Just some quotes from the book 😉

“Listen to me, Ember. I couldn’t hurt you. I can’t.” Hayden settled his eyes on me. They were softer than I’d ever seen. “I love you— I’ve loved you since the first time I saw you.”

 

“His gaze lifted as he leaned in, placing his mouth an inch from mine. The air was sucked right out of the room, and I felt dizzy again. “Ever since I first saw you.” He moved so that his mouth was angled with mine. “And right now I want to so badly it hurts. You have no idea, Em, but I don’t want to hurt you.”
My gaze dropped to his parted lips. What would it be like to feel them against my own? Unable to stop myself, I brought my mouth within a hair’s breadth of his. “I want to kiss you, too.”

 

“For a brief second, I entertained the idea of ripping off my gloves, rushing down the hall, and jumping on Dustin’s back like a psychotic monkey.”

 

“I glanced at my reflection and forced a smile. It was broken.  And I also had the hugest zit ever on my temple. Awesome.”

Leave a Reply

