Paper Towns by John Green book review

Standard

image

Blurb:

The thing about Margo Roth Spiegelman is that really all I could ever do was let her talk, a d then when she stopped talking to encourage her to go on, due to the facts that 1. I was incontestably in love with her, and 2. She was absolutely unprecedented in every way, and 3. She never really asked me any questions…

Quentin Jacobson has always loved Margo from afar. So when she climbs through his window to summon him on an all-night road trip of revenge he cannot help but follow. But the next morning, Q turns up at school and Margo doesn’t. She’s left clues to her disappearance, like a trail of breadcrumbs for Q to follow.

And everything leads to one unavoidable question:

Who is the real Margo?

Paper Towns is from the perspective of Quentin (Q) whose been in love with his neighbour Margo since they were little kids. Growing up though they both go their separate ways, she becomes popular… he’s, well, he’s one of the geeks.

And then one night Q gets a knock on his bedroom window. Its Margo and she needs him for an epic revenge. Her boyfriend has been cheating on her with her best friend and so Q says yes to helping her.

They drive around town for most of the night, getting revenge of those that have hurt her and finally they end up breaking into Sea World.

They return home and that’s the last time Q sees Margo.

She’s run away numerous times before but this is different. This time Q thinks she has done something drastic. Through a series of clues left by Margoa Q and his friends finally manage to track her down.

But did she really want to be found? Because she’s not happy to see them. And Q has to realise something about Margo… she is in fact a girl who is trying to find her way in the world…

Nawwwwwww….

I didn’t know what to expect when reading this book.

John Green is just an amazing storyteller. Seriously he is the bomb! And this book makes you think. Makes you wonder what life is like in a Paper Town. What its like to be stuck in the same town for the rest of your life.

Margo… even though she wasn’t in the book much I liked her. She was some mystery that I couldn’t wait to solve. The clues she left was making me think about things, make me question life. She was this big book figure who you only see twice.

And then Q. Q is brilliant and you see how much he grows in.this book. How he grows from this young boy to a young adult. He takes steps forward and you can see, from when they were kids, how much the roles between them have reversed.

Q is desperate to find Margo and when he does its like he’s seeing her for the first time. Like he knows who she is.

Margo. I feel sorry for Margo. Her parents don’t really care, her best friend and boyfriend cheat on her and the one friend she has, Lacey, doesn’t tell her about them. No wonder she runs away!

Even though you can feel for Q, his confusion and how he’s desperate to find her, your heart lies with Margo (well mine did.) I felt for this girl and I took her into my heart.

I loved all the characters in them and John Green really knows how to make the characters real, how to make you care about them. I took these characters to heart and the ending left you with hope. All of his books do actually. He leaves the endings in a way that you know the characters will be fine, that some way they will find a way back to each other, or to stay friends, or to realise just how much precious life is.

John really knows how to get into the mindset of young adults. He gets their interactions perfectly and be can write about feelings perfectly. John is very quickly becoming my favourite male author. I totally bad utterly adore him.

And also I love how he makes the main characters these geeky out of sorts teenagers, who are trying to find their way, because they are easily relateable.

My favourite boon of his, is, so far, The Fault in Our Stars… Gus… I just… I can’t even…

5 out of 5 stars for Paper Towns

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

