Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell book review

Standard

Whaaaaaaaaaaat????

image

Blurb:

Eleanor is the new girl in town, and with red her chaotic family life, her mismatched clothes and unruly red hair, she couldn’t stick out more if she tried.

Park is the boy at the back of the bus. Black T-shirts, headphones, head in a book – he thinks he’s made himself invisible. But not to Eleanor… never to Eleanor.

Slowly, steadily, through late night conversations and an ever growing stack of mix tapes, Eleanor and Park fall for each other. They fall in love the way you do the first time, when you’re young, and you feel as if you have nothing and everything to lose.

Rainbow… You killed me!

Eleanor is the new girl in the street. And the new girl on the bus. Everyone has their seats and no one is going to let her sit by them… except Park…

At first you can see the tension between them and after she sneaks a read of his comics the pair soon become closer.

Eleanor though is hiding something. Her family is less than conventional. She has a step father that beats up her mother and, he looks at Eleanor strangely.

Park is the guy who, although quiet and shy, is actually so so lovely that it’s hard not to love him.

When the pair are together… sparks fly. And they fall in love slowly and all at once.

But things will tear them apart and Eleanor knows that soon she’ll have to let Park go if she’s going to escape her horrible family life. And then she’s given the opportunity…but that means leaving Park, the one boy who is making her life and whole existence worthwhile…

This book.

Rainbow!

I just…

AAAAAHHHH YOU CAN’T LEAVE THE ENDING LIKE THAT!

Park is just… god he is perfect (just like Levi in Fangirl haha) and, yeah he gets things wrong (he is a boy afterall!) But he loves Eleanor. Like seriously loves her.

And Eleanor herself… it was so good to read about a bigger girl in books. She describes herself as fat in the book but I see her as a curvy redhead, who has a Buddha belly. But to Park… she is beautiful and perfect and when he sees her in her gymsuit…

The bullying though. I felt so bad for Eleanor. Like I wanted to step into the book and keep her safe from the bullies. Especially her step father Richie. You know that something is happening there and you slowly learn about it. (Even though its not actually said, you know what it is)

And the story between them was just perfect and the love they have for each other… god!

Park’s mom was brilliant and the way Rainbow wrote her Korean speech was brilliant, because you can vividly imagine her talking.

Everything about the book was perfect and I loved the realistic characters and I liked that it was set in the 80’s… I actually wasn’t expecting that. But it made it that more better.

But the ending… Rainbow!

Don’t do that to me!! The ending doesn’t satisfy my Park and Eleanor feels. I need more. Write a sequel woman! I need more Eleanor and Park… I need to know if they come together again!

But seriously. Rainbow is like the female John Green. She writes realistic characters and you become so involved with them that they stay in your heart for ages. And you can relate to all the characters in different ways, which is what I love.

Rainbow you’ve written another amazing book!

Give me more Eleanor and Park!

5 out of 5 star

Definitely a must read! 🙂

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

