If I Stay by Gayle Forman book review

Standard

image

Blurb:

The last thing Mia remembers is the music.

After the accident, she can still hear it. And she can see her damaged body being taken from the wreck of her parents car – even though she can’t feel a thing.

All she can do is watch as doctors rush to save her life, as her friends and relatives gather outside her room, as the boy she loves struggles to be near her.

As the next twenty four hours unfold, Mia must come to terms with what came before the crash – and what could come after. And she knows she must make the most difficult choice of all.

If she stays…

This was just so… god… I cried like a baby!

This was another emotional book and I seem to be getting into these.

It starts off as a normal book. A happy family who have all been given a day off because of the “snow fall” (it didn’t last long) So they decide to go visit their friends and their little baby. On the way tragedy strikes…

Everyone in her family is killed in the car crash and Mia is left behind. Although she’s in an extremely bad way and in a coma. In a different turn of events, Mia is expelled from her body and she can see everything that is going on… How the remainder of her family are reacting, how her friends are coping and most of all, how the boy she loves is trying hard to keep his emotions in check.

And then she realizes why she’s like the way she is. She has to decide whether she stays or whether she lets it all go.

Through flashbacks to her previous life and her present situation we see how Mia must make her decision and its one that could change her life, and those around her…

This book.

Oh my god Gayle Forman knows how to write emotion. I thought John Green killed me with TFIOS but this book…

I was right there with Mia throughout all of it. All of her high and low points and how devastated she was when she saw her family after the car crash happened.

I loved Adam. Totally loved him. He loved Mia for who she was. In his eyes she was everything. And Mia’s love for Adam was just as epic.

Mia’s decision tore me. I could see how she’d want to stay, but I can see how she’d also want to go. Her parents and baby brother are dead. She loves them. She should go with them. Yet there are people outside her ICU room who love her too. It makes you wonder what you would do if you were faced with this decision? Would you stay? Or go?

Gayle Forman has written a heartfelt emotional book and she really draws you in to the life of the characters. You feel and love all of them.

A definite 5 out of 5 stars and I cannot wait to dig into Where She Went: the sequel that’s written from Adam’s POV.

And of course its being made into a movie so this is going to be another blub fest.

A total must read.

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

7 responses »

  1. You HAVE to pick up “Where She Went” if you haven’t already. The sequel is so much MORE. I know that’s hard to believe and trust me, I loved “If I Stay” too. But WSW gave us Adam’s POV and his voice is much smoother, more lyrical. Need some enticement? A quote:

    “But I’d do it again. I know that now. I’d make that promise a thousand times over and lose her a thousand times over to have heard her play last night or to see her in the morning sunlight. Or even without that. Just to know that she’s somewhere out there. Alive.”

    Let me know if you end up reading it and how you felt about it! xo

  2. Ghaaaad… I am so excited to read “where she went” …. Jennifer Smith was successfully finish an amazing and heart-touching book :)))))

Leave a Reply

