Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell book review

Standard

Holy amazeballs! I LOVE THIS BOOK!

image

Blurb:

Cath and Wren are identical twins and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair anymore – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She would rather bury herself in the fanfiction she writes where there’s romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life.

Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible…

This book!!

I’m so glad I brought it (I wanted it for ages but I had no money at the time haha) but wow wow wow. Its just…AAAAHHHH!!!

So its about identical twins Cather and Wren who are off to the same university, but they will be doing things separately.
Cath’s roommate is Reagan whose not too keen on the whole roommate thing to begin with. And she meets Levi. Who she assumes is Reagan’s boyfriend.
She keeps herself to herself for a few weeks, despite attempts from Levi to get her out. Its only when she’s hungry and doesn’t know where the canteen is that Reagan takes her under her wing.

Cath is obsessed with Simon Snow (the best selling book series) and she writes Fanfic for them on the website, which gets thousands of hits everyday.

To top it all off… Cath isn’t really… social. She doesn’t like parties and would rather stay up reading or writing.

Then she meets Nick in her fiction class and the pair quickly become friends of sorts and they start writing together but he’s not quite what he seems…

Also to add to her list is the fact that her father gets rushed into hospital, she’s not as tight as she used to be with Wren and her long lost mother wants back in their lives.

But throughout it all there’s one strong presence in her life; Levi. (Even if there is a time when they don’t speak to each other… but you’ll have to read to find out why!)
You can quickly tell how much Levi and Cath like each other and it only escalates on one particular night when she’s helping him study 🙂

Then she has her fanfiction deadline… the eighth and last Simon Snow book is out soon and she needs to finish her story before the author does!

Wren is rushed into hospital with alcohol poisoning and from then, the become strong again and they start working on the Carry On Simon fanfic together again 🙂

I can’t tell you the ending because it’ll spoil the book and you guys really need to read it!

This book is just a power anthem for all us Nerds and Fangirls out there. Seriously. Its like Rainbow lived in our heads and took everything out of it and made it into a book!

Cath is the ultimate girl nerd and she’s really an icon! And I can see myself in her in so many ways, its unbelievable!

And the names… haha when it was explained I was like Oh My God YES! (When their mother was pregnant she thought she was pregnant with one baby and only had a name for one… when she found out of was twins she split the name in half… Cather Wren… GENIUS!)

I would definitely read this book over and over again because I can relate to Cath in so many ways and I hope that one day I find my own Levi like she has 🙂

She’s given me hope that the geek girls will come out on top and that there is someone out there who is going to love me and all my geekness!

Five out of five stars does not do this book justice! Maybe 100 out of 100 sounds better 🙂

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

