Teardrop by Lauren Kate Book Review

Standard

I’ve been wanting to read this for ages! But it came out during my “3 month book ban” last year and now I’ve finally got to read it!

image

Blurb:

Seventeen year old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain.
After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back; Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean.
And the Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense.
Can everything you love be washed away?

I read Lauren’s Fallen series so when I heard she had a new series coming out I was like; I must have! And this one didn’t disappoint.

Eureka is coming to terms with her mothers death and is living with her father, step mother and twin siblings. She’s been to so many different therapists and has lost nearly all of her friends, bar BFF’s Cat and Brooks, and well… she never ever cries.

And then her car gets into an accident with Ander’s truck and from then on things get a little crazy! She’s drawn to Ander from the beginning but at the same time she wants to run away from him. Something is up with her BFF Brooks who isn’t acting like himself and is being really spiteful to her and then there’s the stuff her mother left her in the will; a locker that doesn’t open, a thunderstone and an ancient book that no one can decipher!

Eureka’s life takes on a strange turn and before she knows the truth is out; she finds out what her destiny is, who Ander is and what’s happened to Brooks… (no spoilers from me!)

I really liked it. I was hooked from the beginning and I really wanted to get to know Ander and Eureka more. She was definitely an interesting character and one you thought about a lot. And Ander… well… new book husband! Haha. And Brooks… before he went all horrible and spiteful!

Cat is a great best friend to Eureka. I love them together. They have a tight friendship and even when things start going wrong she doesn’t question. She’s just there for Eureka.

The last fee chapters were definitely gripping and action based and I kinda feel bad for the adults in this book because they don’t seem to fare well at all!

They only problem? I have to wait for the next book! And I do not like waiting haha. Its out this year, I know, but its too long a gap to wait! I had to wait for the Fallen books… Do not do this to me again!! Haha

Oh and yeah… I don’t know if I like the name Eureka yet or not… It reminds me of what you shout when you get a science experiment right (I don’t get science so I’d NEVER get an experiment right!) But I have a feeling it will grow on me!

So if you were a fan of the Fallen series (like me) or you love a YA book with an mythical twist to it… (OKAY ONE TINY SPOILER HERE! You have been warned!) Its based around Atlantis and I love anything to do with myths so this one was like YES! She’s managed to turn the lost underwater city into a dream YA book!

So yeah, READ IT!

4 out of 5 stars

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

