Favourite Book Boy and Girl of 2013

Standard

I’ve been thinking. Of all the books I’ve read this year who has been my favourite overall book boy and book girl? But before I tell you who mine our… lets see who you lot chose as your book Boy and book Girl!

Megan:

Favorite book guy of 2013 (oh shit this is a hard one!) Adrian Ivashkov from the Vampire Academy series and the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead.

image

Favorite book girl of 2013 (this one was much easier for me) Alex (what was her last name?) from Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Covenant series.

image

“Don’t worry, little dhampir. You might be surrounded by clouds, but you’ll always be like sunshine to me.” – Adrian Ivashkov, Shadow Kiss

An excerpt of Alex talking to Leon: “I searched for something to say, but came up empty until my gaze fell on a statue of Apollo. “Hey, you kind of look like Apollo. Has anyone told you that? All you need is blond hair and raging hormones. Maybe he’s your great-great-great-great grandfather or something.”
Leon’s gaze flicked over the marble statue. “No. No one has ever said that.”
“Huh. Funny. ‘Cuz you do. I wonder if you have anything else in common with Apollo.”
“Like what?”
“You know. Didn’t Apollo have a thing for pretty boys?” I snorted. “Wait, didn’t Apollo have a thing for just about everything that walked? Until they got turned into trees or flowers, that is.”
“What?” Leon came to a complete standstill, gaping down at me. “There are some myths that are true, but most are exaggerated.”
I raised my brows quizzically. “Didn’t realize you were an Apollo fanboy. Sorry.”
“I am not a fanboy.”

Ursula:

Ok here we go:

My favorite book boy for 2013 was Aaron Warner from Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series.

Favorite Quote: “I think there’s something about the impermanence of life these days that makes it necessary to etch ink into our skin, it reminds us that we’ve been marked by the world, that we are still alive. That we’ll never forget” – Unravel Me

Warner is the bad guy and the injured boy all in one, he is mysterious, enigmatic, cold and calculating but also vulnerable and sweet. Passionate and loving, intense when it comes to the all consuming love he feels for Juliette. He is the book boyfriend of my dreams, that one that you don’t completely understand but can’t help but be completely and absolutely in love with.

image

My favorite book girl for 2013 is Lucero-Elisa de Riqueza from Rae Carson’s The Girl of Fire and Thorns series.

Elisa is my favorite girl character because of the unbelievable growth you see in her as the book progresses and this only based on Book #1 as I’m still 1/4 into book #2. She is not your typical cookie cutter heroine with the beautiful hair, stunning face and kick ass bod, she is actually on the heavy side. Elisa is nothing special as far as her looks, but is very intelligent and well read Princess. In the beginning she constantly questions the fact that she is the chosen one (chosen by God to the the bearer of the stone), she can’t imagine what’s so special about her. Yet she will little by little find what many things she is capable of, and how just a little confidence in herself makes everyone around her love her and follow her and it is because of these things that she will lead to what could be the salvation of her people when the monarch in charge fails to act when danger presents itself. Elisa is a prime example of girl power! She starts small but gains ground when she realizes that she has many things to offer. She is passionate, daring, brave, smart, loving, a good friend and true to her faith.

image

“I bend over, hugging myself with relief, with unshed tears, with exhaustion, and with an understanding as bonewrenching as it is pure: I am wholly and irreversibly in love with the commander of my Royal Guard” – The Crown of Embers

Sylvia:

My favorite fictional dude would have to be Simon Lewis from cassandra clares TMI series.. I LOVE him! hes hilarious & witty & nerdy.. & im sure has great taste in  music.. Hes a great best friend, & brave, he can be a bit stubborn & sarcastic but I also love that about him.. I love that Robert Sheehan portrays him in the movie… but thats a whole other post… Simon lewis is everything I want in a boyfriend.

image

My favorite Fictional Gal would have to be… Allyson from Just One Day. She takes a risk & has so much drive. She becomes confident in herself. She learned how to love herself and begins to do the things she loves instead of doing things for her parents. I just really love that she grew so much & became this really strong being.

image

Eilidh:

Okay so my best book boy is Maxon from the Selection series. I totally fell in love with him from the moment he helped America, the main girl of the series. I loved that he wasn’t the typical pompous idiots that some royalty can be portrayed as in books. He is kind and loving. The only think I don’t like about him is that he didn’t fight hard enough for America at the start. He’s so witty too, which is why my next quote is my favourite:

“If you don’t want me to be in love with you, you’re going to have to stop looking so lovely. First thing tomorrow I’m having your maids sew some potato sacks together for you.”

image

As for a girl, gotta be Alex from the Covenant Series. She is, without a shadow of a doubt, my favourite leading lady in a series… EVER. She is so badass, at the same time as being one of the kindest and loyal people you could ever find. She does the right thing, and she goes around the right way of doing it. She’s almost an inspiration to me. I do love her muchly. My favourite quote of Alex’s just sums her right up… 

“Oh, that flipped my bitch switch from meh to pure “I’m going to cut a bitch” rage.”

image

Sara:

*Best Boy *

My best boy of 2013 was Ryan Dean from Andrew Smith’s Winger. He is my favorite because of the way he made me laugh throughout the entire novel, and the way I felt transported into a hormonal, typical teenager boy’s
brain. The novel was incredible and what made it so great was Ryan Dean’s narrative, and the ways he could make me think and seriously the way he made me laugh.

“I said a silent prayer. Actually, silent is probably the only type of
prayer a guy should attempt when his head’s in a toilet.”

image

*Best Girl *

My best girl of 2013 was Cath from Fangirl. The reason Cath made such a huge impression on me was because of the connection that I had with her. I
have never felt like a person was so close to me ever before in my life.
She was me, she had the same fears and anxieties, the same type of humor, the same obsession with Simon Snow that I have with Harry Potter.

“No,” Cath said, “Seriously. Look at you. You’ve got your shit together, you’re not scared of anything. I’m scared of everything. And I’m crazy. Like maybe you think I’m a little crazy, but I only ever let people see the tip of my crazy iceberg. Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and socially inept, I’m a complete disaster.”

image

Stephanie:

So my male is Stark as I’m sure you can guess. But I have to find a quote and a reason besides him being a sexy badass haha
How bout this for a stark quote

“I should have kissed more than your hand… Promise that you won’t forget about me”

Ok better quote “I would tell you that you looked really hot today when I saw you naked, but that wouldn’t probably be appropriate, being as were in bed together but not doing anything”

image

And my female is Rose and my quote was said in Vampire Academy and Last Sacrifice

“You see anything you like?”

Haha and my reason is because she’s a badass lol

image

So mine… it took a while to figure out because there have been so so so many but I managed to find my ultimate best….

Best Boy

Cam Hamilton from Wait For You by J Lynn.
Cam is the ultimate boyfriend. He’s caring and thoughtful and has an amazing amount of charm. He has a wicked sense of humour and his witty banter just makes you laugh. He’s protective, especially when it comes to both his sister and the girl he loves, Avery. He is loving. Seriously when he loves its for keeps and you can see the exact moment he falls in love with Avery. Before she came along Cam was, well he kind of went with a lot of girls, but the moment he met Avery his whole personality changed, you could see his blue eyes brighten and spark when he sees Avery, the way he smiles at her and acts with her… God its perfect.
And not only that but Cam knows that Avery has a secret and because of that he doesn’t push her for sex. He waits for her until she’s ready. That just makes him even more lovable. The fact that he’s willing to wait because he loves her so much.
He’s uber sexy. 6’3″, blue eyes, dark brown wavy hair… a dimple… kissable lips… *drool* and girls to top it all off… He can cook AND bake!! Does that not make him even more perfect!?
So I couldn’t think of just one quote for Cam… seriously everything he says is perfect haha so here’s my top 3:

* “Fuck Avery. You think I don’t want you? There’s not a single part of you that I don’t want, you understand? I want to be on you and inside you. I want you against the wall, on the couch, in your bed, in my bed, and every fucking place I can possibly think of, and trust me, I have a vast imagination when it comes to these things. Don’t ever doubt that I want you. That is not what this is about.”

* “I’m beginning to think cookies is a code word for something else”
“Maybe it is” He tugged on my bag again as he took a confident step back, forcing me down a step. “And think about it. If cookie was a code word, whatever it symbolizes, its been in your mouth sweetheart.”

* “….I have hope,” he said, his gaze never leaving mine. “I have hope because I love you – I’ve been in love with you Avery. Probably before I even realized that I was.”

image

Best Girl
This is the third time now this girl has been mentioned but she is just brilliant! So my best Girl is Alex Andros from the Covenant series by Jennifer L Armentrout.

She is a downright badass. She can fight and when the time is appropriate she can have a few choice words to say. But other than that she’s fiercely loyal to her loved ones and she’s the kindest person you’d want to meet. She’d protect you with all that she has. And not only that but she gets the sex god himself Aidan St Delphi! Haha.
She’s such a good friend too and wouldn’t want anyone to upset them because if they did, they’d have her to answer to.
She is amazing and so like one of my other favourite book girls Rose Hathaway from VA. (I would have chosen her but I didn’t read the VA books in 2013… I read them in 2012)
She is the ultimate best book girl and I would love to have someone like Alex by my side.

Again I picked three quotes… If it were up to me I’d have written every single thing that comes out of her mouth because its amazing but that would be a looooooong blog post haha. 

* Oh, that flipped my bitch switch from meh to pure “I’m going to cut a bitch” rage.

* Gods were like possums. You could go your whole life without seeing one, but once you found one of them, you found the whole freaky family.

* Karma was a bitch and a half

image

So those were yours and my chooses… Lets see what 2014 brings!

Leave a Reply

