The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa book review

Standard

I have literally just put this book down!

image

Blurb:

My name is Meghan Chase.

I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron Fey that will drag me back kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished Prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.

This time,
There will be no turning back.

This book picked up straight where the second book ended. Meghan and Ash are exiles, banished because of their love, and Meghan wants to see her parents. But that doesn’t go quite so swimmingly….

Attacked by a group of Iron fey, Meghan realises, that even though she’s done with Faery, Faery isn’t done with her.

She and Ash embark on a mission and end up in Leannsidhes inner house (a house between Faery and the mortal realm…)

There Meghan finds out that Puck has also been exiled from the Nevernever and she learns the truth about her dad’s disappearance all those years ago.

Then it happens. She’s summoned back to Faery in the hope that she can kill the False Iron King like she killed the proper Iron King in the first book.

She sets out with Ash and Puck at her side to find the kingdom. Along the way Meghan grows up. You see her taking on these responsibilities, trusting her heart and throwing herself into danger.

Meghan asks Ash to be her knight (which he agrees to… dur!)

They then meet Glitch, the last Iron Kings lieutenant and they join forces to stop the False Iron King from destroying everything.

Then comes the battle. And what happens… lets just say I didn’t have dry eyes!

And then the ending! Aaaaahhhhhh!!!!

Okay so this book I think is my favourite so far (I haven’t read Iron Knight yet which is from Ash’s perspective… YUM!) Mainly because it has everything a third book should have; love, honour, battle, sacrifice and of course the hanky panky haha.

This one though, especially the ending bit, really got my emotions running. I can’t spoil it for you but the scene in particular… lets just say it was hard not to cry.

And I liked how Meghan grew from this young girl to a young woman. Showing her strong side and vulnerable side and showing that anything is possible.

And Ash… well he follows on this… he’s still the fierce Ice Prince, but you see the loving side to him. The one that loves Meghan with his whole heart. And there’s the vulnerable side to him that you also see and, if I’m honest, It makes you live Ash even more.

And Puck… well I still love Puck and his sarcastic ways but you also get to see the darker side of him too. Which was good because throughout the books he’s always been depicted as the one who doesn’t bother about emotions and stuff like that but you see in this one just how much Meghan choosing Ash hurt him. Although we do still have the cocky, sarcastic Puck throughout the story too.

I’m really enjoying these books and I have no idea why people are slating them. Its taken me away from the mundane world and thrust me into one of faeries and magic. And of course its helping me write my own Fairy YA book (I’m not copying any of Julie’s work… its just helping me get more into the mind of faeries and the otherworld.)

Please please read these books. You honestly will not be disappointed!

4 out of 5

(I’m off to read The Iron Knight… I need my fix of Ash!)

Leave a Reply

