Perfect Summer by Karen King book review

Standard

My creative writing teacher is called Karen King and I was so thrilled when she gave me a copy of her YA Book Perfect Summer to read and review for her. I’d already read the back when she brought it into class and I was desperate to read it πŸ™‚

image

image

It was signed too πŸ™‚ My first signed book… Yay! Haha

Anyway…

Here’s the blurb:

Set in the future…
In a society obsessed with perfection…
15 year old Morgan can’t help being a bit envious of her best friend, Summer.

Summer is beautiful, rich and seems to have an effortlessly perfect life. Whereas Morgan isn’t so rich, or beautiful and her younger brother Josh had Down’s Syndrome, which according to the government, and society in general, is a crime.
Then Josh is kidnapped and the authorities aren’t interested, so Morgan and Summer decide to investigate.
They, along with another teenager Jamie whose sister, Holly, has also been kidnapped, uncover a sinister plot involving the kidnapping of disabled children and find themselves in terrible danger. Can they find Josh and Holly before it’s too late?

I mean it was such a good topic to write about. Especially seeing as society now is obsessed with perfection and being perfect and beautiful and Karen gave an insight into what the future could be like.

Morgan is such a likable character and the fact that she thinks the same things as normal teenagers do, makes you take her into your heart. She has the whole doubt… of not being perfect in a perfect society and how she compares her self to her best friend Summer, because everyone has self doubt at times.
And I really liked Jamie and his background story was sad. I like to think a relationship grows between him and Morgan
And Summer… well… at first I thought oh great she’s going to be a stuck up bitch but she actually wasn’t that bad. She helped Morgan and Jamie at first until circumstances happened. And yeah she’s obsessed with perfection too and she does know she’s beautiful and I actually liked her but at the end of the book I think her true colours showed a bit.

For a first YA novel it was very thought provoking and it really made you think about how we perceive ourselves and others because everyone is perfect, whether they are disabled or not… okay so people do have their flaws but disabled people don’t know any different. They are perfect, to their families and to the people who love them.

I’m just so glad Karen wrote this book and that I got to read it because its really made me stop and think about my life.

I hope Karen writes more YA and I get to read them.

Karen in a brilliant author and an even amazing person and I’m lucky I got the chance to meet her and to be taught by her.

A definite 5 out of 5

Its only available on e-reader at the moment and here’s the link to buy it:Β 
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00B4DF3DG

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

One response »

  1. Hi Hayley,

    Thank you for your review. I’m pleased you liked Perfect Summer. Love your comment that ‘everyone is perfect whether they are disabled or not’. So true! Btw, Perfect Summer is also available as a print book from Amazon. πŸ™‚

    All the best,

    Karen

Leave a Reply

