The Fault in our Stars book review

Standard

Seeing as I can finally see out of my puffy tear stained eyes its time to give a review of this book

image

I’ve never read any John Green books before but I have seen them around. After hearing nothing but rave reviews about him and his books (mainly from all my American friends 🙂 who all rock by the way!) I decided to give TFIOS a try.
And omg I could not put it down. It took me two whole days to read and I got sucked into the world of Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters right from the start (oh my god even typing Augustus’ name I’m getting teary!)

Its a beautiful, thought provoking, heart warming and heart breaking book that has you laughing and crying all in one. I laughed through Augustus’ and Grace’s conversations and Augustus in general. They were such lovable and believeable characters that it broke my heart when I read it all. (I’m crying now… I’ve started to cry again)

Hazel has been nothing but terminal. She’s got cancer tumors on her lungs and its only a matter of time before she dies. She walks around with a air tank and canisters up her nose to help her breathe and she takes these tablets called Philanixifor (which is a made up cancer drug) one day at a Cancer support group she meets Augustus Waters and its basically love at first sight. Augustus has bone cancer (he’s been clear for a year) and has a fake leg. He’s handsome and beautiful and so lovable that its really hard not to love him from the first moment you first read about him.
Then there is their friend Issac who has cancer of the eyes. He’s already had one eye removed and then he loses sight in the other. The bits between him and Augustus when he goes blind is just so amazing and beautiful and just shows how strong friendships can be.
Him and Hazel have such a strong love bond (even though they are totally opposite personality wise) but it doesn’t matter because their love trumps that.

The trip to Amsterdam… I couldn’t help but shed happy tears during those chapters. They are so perfect for each other and then comes bad news from Augustus. His cancer has come back.
After that its just cry central. (I’ve gone again)
Towards the end of the book I couldn’t see the pages my tears were coming down that fast but its just such a beautiful book.
It makes you believe in love that comes quick and fast and the lesson I got from the book was to live your life as best as you can because you never know when something will happen. Love and laugh and cry and do stupid things. See the world, read the books you want and be as crazy and as outrageous as you can.because its your life and you only get one chance at it.

I’d like to think that both Hazel and Augustus are Somewhere out their, living their lives from the other side, loving each other for eternity (soppy I know)

I want to thank my American friends for recommending this book and to think John Green for writing it. Its so beautiful and heartbreaking that I’m going to recommend it to anyone who will listen.

I will however be locking this book away in a box until I’m ready to read it again (if I ever will be!)
No I won’t really. Its too beautiful to be put away.

I can’t wait to see the movie and I know it’ll make me cry even more than the book did.

5 out of 5 stars. Even 10 out of 10

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

