Shiver book review

Standard

So I’ve just finished Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater….

image

I’ve heard of the author before but never thought about checking her books out until I saw these one’s. I liked the cover as it is very eyecatching and draws you too it and to be honest the blurb caught my attention too… infact it caught my attention so much that I didn’t even read the blurbs of the other two books. I just picked them up and brought them!

When a local boy is killed by wolves, Grace’s small town becomes a place of fear.

But Grace is fascinated by the pack, and finds herself inexplicably drawn to a yellow-eyed wolf.

There’s something about him – something almost human. Then she meets the yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away….

A chilling love story that will have you hooked from the very first page.

What I liked about this book was the fact that they were in love with each other before Grace saw the wolf as a human… I know that sounds weird but shes drawn to him so much and becomes so fascinated with the wolf that as soon as they meet each other when he’s human, their love is magnified.

I liked the writing style as it shifted between Grace and Sam (the wolf boy).

And I liked how it wasn’t stereotypical werewolf… because these wolves change in the winter and become human in the summer and eventually the time will come when they will just stay a wolf forever.

Grace and Sam have to spend as many precious moments together as they can before something happens to Sam.

Its so sweet a love story and different to the normal YA supernatural love stories… they’ve been in love for a while… even if one of them was a wolf!

There are a lot of twists and turns and one moment that literally tugs at your heartstrings. Of course there is something mysterious about Grace herself but I won’t ruin it for you.

Grace is a girl who likes numbers and order. She’s very pragmatic and so different from her free spirit mother and her working father… in fact I think Grace is that way because she’s had to look after herself from the beginning as her parents are hardly around. She knows her own mind and she would do anything to protect Sam’s secret

Sam himself is unlike some of the other YA supernatural male boys that we all know and love… he’s not cocky and arrogant and he doesn’t know that he’s good looking (lets be honest… that lures us in with our books!) He’s sweet and shy and artistic and musical. He keeps himself to himself and he loves Grace with his whole being… even when he’s a wolf. He does have a past like many of our fave book boys and its a sad one. Even though he’s many of those things he will do anything to protect Grace and will do anything to be with her.

The other characters in the book also set a good scene from her two best friends Rachel and Olivia to the rich Isabelle and her angry brother Jack. Sam’s wolf family are also a good addition because you understand his background more having them in there

I really really enjoyed this book. And it did lure me in from the first page.

Its an amazing beginning to The Shiver trilogy and I cannot wait to see what the second book Linger has in store.

I’d definitely recommend you read this book

I give this book 4 out 5 stars! 🙂

About geekandbooknerd

I'm Hayley. A total book nerd and a massive geek just as the name suggests. I have plenty of book husbands (Oh so many to name!) as well as tv show and movie ones :P I am a total fangirl and you will get random posts from me. I'm totally weird but I happily accept that. This blog is just me reviewing books and fangirling and geeking out to things because sometimes you just need a break from normal things! So please enjoy :)

Leave a Reply

