Vampire Diaries: The Fury & The Reunion

Standard

Soooo I’ve just finished the 3rd & 4th vampire diaries book (I really don’t know why its a volume like that!)

image

So it wasn’t as bad as the first volume. It got slightly better. The fighting scenes were slightly more descriptive and Damon was still hot!
But things happened way too quick again! I think its because I have been spoilt by the TV show.
Klaus featured in the The Reunion but he didn’t have much of a story. Yeah we knew he was the bad guy but you didn’t really get to see his badness. Okay so he almost killed Stefan and electrified Damon and he did kill Vickie Bennett (different name in the show!) But that was it. You didn’t really know about him unlike in the TV show. He had one fight scene and poof he was gone. A bit like Katherine in the first book… she had one bad part in it and then she died and so did Elena.
Elena came back from the dead again at the end of the Fury (at the end of The Awakening she became a vampire having taken both Stefan and Damon’s blood and then dying in a drowning accident!)
And at the beginning of The Return: Nightfall she repressed back to a child in an adults body…. (I’ll review that one later!)
The only thing that was similar to the TV show was that Tyler and Klaus were tied together and that Tyler is a werewolf… but other than that there’s not much else. And Bonnie is physic in the book… not a witch like in the TV show…

I really do LOVE the TV show and I’m glad I watched the first four series before reading the books… In the 1990’s the books were a huge thing but I think now the books do seem outdated… mainly because of the TV show and mainly because of all the other vampire books there are around now… never the less I will read the next four books because I brought up to book 8. I may buy the rest (in fact I probably will because I can’t leave a book series without finishing it… apart from the Sookie Stackhouse books. I didn’t buy the last two because apparently they went really weird and she chose Sam instead of Eric! Grrrrr)

Anyway…

Yeah and there is no Jeremy in the book! (think I mentioned that in another Vampire Diaries book post) and there has been no mention of Elijah and Rebekah yet….. I know the TV show is based on the books and they don’t always stick to the books but I wonder why they chose to make Klaus likable at the end and put in his Original family and to keep Katherine alive. And also there is no sign of Elena picking Damon in the books yet… wonder why they went down that route in the TV show?!
Oh and while we’re on the subject… Elena and Stefan are a little annoying in the books… in the TV show they are feisty and Stefan’s ripper past I LOVED! But there is no sign of that yet in the book… oh and Damon can turn into animals in the books… so far he’s been a crow and a wolf! WTF!? Anyway like I said I will finish reading them because I heard they do get better…

I’m just going to post pictures now of the TV show characters 😀

image

                     

image

            

image

                  

image

                      

image

                    

image

                        

image

                      

image

                      

image

                   

image

                     

image

    

Leave a Reply

